Matt and Joanne’s Page

May 14, 2011

Hello Boston

Filed under: Random thoughts — joannestamplis @ 12:51 pm

It’s been so long since we made any post here. So much has changed since then. I’m going to attempt to summarize eveything in one post here.
Matt finally got a new job; one that he actually went to school for. The catch is it is in Boston. Being a supportive wife like I am :), I told him to take it. Who knows when the next opportunity is going to come?
Everything went really fast the moment he accepted the job. He moved to Boston on his own in October; meanwhile I stayed behind to take care of the logistic of moving to Boston. We rented the house out to our friends and entrust them to take care of it for us. Sold and donated a whole bunch of stuff since we can’t possibly move everything to Boston. Oh did I mention our new place here in Boston is a 300 sqft 1 bedroom apartment? It’s not easy downsizing from 2000sqft home to 300 sqft but we managed to do so.
I found a new job in Cambridge and finally quitted and moved there myself in January 2011 bringing Yogi with me on the plane. I was a little worried at first since it’s Yogi’s first time on the plane and he is too big to ride in the front so ended up in the cargo instead but the little guy is tough and made it there safely.
So now here we are in Boston. The winter was pretty interesting consider we got the record high in snow level this year. Yogi of course loves the snow and I love my new sub zero down jacket.
Climbing season has finally started and we have checked out a few of the new crags here and getting used to the style. Can’t wait to start putting more new pictures soon.
Stay tuned!!

2 Comments »

  1. I’m a retired cop. I ran into your page when I was looking into Joshua Tree photos & campground. Some photos and your story got me REALLY interested. I began to read & read, then to recent story. I JUST think you two COUPLE are AWESOME and real fun people. I admire SO MUCH when two couple travel together on outdoor activities such as rock climbing, rough biking, camping in nature, and so on.

    Honor to see very supportive wife and gentle husband …. congratulation getting the new job.

    2000 sqft to 300 sqft change …. JUST WOW! … Reading to your life story, you both seem very outdoor life style …. meaning you probably have MANY MANY accumulated outdoor GEARS …. how did you manage to store or keep. I just cannot see or believe you two would give away or sell your climbing equipments, camping equipments, basically all your outdoor equipments.

    Don’t you miss the California weather?

    Anyway, good luck to you Matt and Joanne ……. and continue to have many wonderful outdoor life together.

    Sun

    Comment by Sun Oh — November 1, 2011 @ 8:38 pm

    • Hi Sun, thank you so much for such a nice comment. Sorry for the delay in response. We really haven’t been doing a good job maintaining this blog since the end of our road trip. I guess our life is no longer that exciting to put down on the web 🙂
      It was quite tough at first moving from a 2000sqft to a barely 400 sqft apt. However, we make do. My father-in-law built us a really high bed so I can store all our climbing, camping and skiing gear there. That works really well. I did got rid of a lot of stuff prior to moving out to Boston but we still have so much stuff. We are definitely more hesistant buying ‘stuff’ now because there is not much room for them.
      City living is very different from where we come from. We find ourselves not climbing as much anymore as we used to. We spent a lot of time in the city hanging out with friends and doing city sighting. It doesn’t help that it seems to rain a lot during the spring and summer. Maybe next year we will be able to start climbing more now that we have seen most of the city. I sure hope so ….

      Comment by joannestamplis — November 29, 2011 @ 7:34 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

