Matt and Joanne’s Page

December 19, 2007

Consumer rights

Filed under: Random thoughts — joannestamplis @ 10:21 am

I like to think that if I am spending my money, I will get whatever I want and deserve and rule #1, customer is always right. Poor service, bad employees and bad products are totally unacceptable in my opinion. And I will make sure the people I deal with KNOW about my opinion.

Last week, I went shopping with my friends at the Washington Square Mall. We went into the Bath and Body Works and my friend bought a few items. On the way out, she realized that she had a coupon of $10 off with $30 purchase. So we returned to the cashier and told her that we like to return the stuff she bought and re-buy them again using her coupon which in my opinion is a totally legitimate thing to do. The cashier who was helping her was really nice and she was like, “sure, I’ll help you’. However, the cashier at the next register made a comment when our cashier asked her for some help, “Well, technically we are not allowed to do this. This is against the company policy”.

Well, needless to say, I was fuming, even though I wasn’t the person who needed this service. Is she telling us that we are not allowed to return an item and immediately make another purchase?? I demanded to see the manager and immediately she shut her mouth up. Our nice cashier proceeded to help us out and then we moved on to the rest of our shopping.

Returning home, the encounter with the bad employee still haunts me. I was very disappointed that I wasn’t firm in demanding to see the manager nor did I ask the cashier for her name so I can complain further. So I decided to go to the company website and write a long and lengthy email complaining about this. My complain is very specific to 1) If the employee was just tellling us the truth and that the company has this stupid policy that customers are not allowed to return items and re-buy them and 2) If the employee was just making up crap to threaten us so we won’t cause her unnecessary work.

Well, surprisingly I received an email back from Bath and Body Work company yesterday. I was really proud of myself because I felt that I execised my right as a customer to demand quality service and that I wasn’t afraid to stick to it. Below is the email I got back from them.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Dear Mei Kim,
We appreciate you taking the time to write us to share your concerns. We are always reviewing our standards to improve as a company and we are grateful for your feedback.

We are committed to excellent customer service, and our top priority is to make sure that every one of our customers has a wonderful experience every time they visit one of our stores. We have discussed this situation with the Regional Manager, who will address the problem at the store level. Although we wish the incident had never occurred, we appreciate your honesty in bringing it to our attention. When customers like you take the time to write us, we can improve our service and prevent problems from happening in the future. The coupon is to be used on your next purchase but you are more than welcome to return the products and re buy them. I will mail you a $25.00 gift card as a goodwill gesture from our office.

Thanks again for contacting us. We hope you will continue to enjoy your favorites from Bath & Body Works and The White Barn Candle Co. If we can do anything else for you, please feel free to reply to this e-mail (please do not change the subject line) or call us

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So I urge everybody out there to never let employees bully you with their poor work ethics. Always bring the issue to the manager and if the manager is not helpful, escalate it to a higher rank people. We ARE the paying customers and if you 100% know that you are not on the wrong side, please stand up for yourself. If you back down, the bad employees will just keep repeating this to all other customers onward. This will not only help making the world a better place for yourself but also for everybody else that will have to deal with this later in the future.

1 Comment »

  1. great job, i will do it next time, hope to get a $25 coupons as well hehehe šŸ˜›

    Comment by jerry — January 2, 2008 @ 11:26 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

