Matt and Joanne’s Page

March 24, 2007

Our new toy!

Filed under: Random thoughts — joannestamplis @ 8:10 pm

So our beloved Subaru finally ran into some trouble last week. The radiator plugged, the engine overheated and blew a head gasket and warped the cylinder. Anyway, it costs $2400 to fix the car and no gurantee that there aren’t any other problems that might pop up. We thought of selling the car for good and found someone who’s willing to buy it for $2000. But if we sell it, we won’t have a car anymore and still need to buy one to use for the summer. After a long discussion, we decided to repair the car with the condition that the mechanic will look closely at the engine and see if it’s a good idea to continue the fix or to stop if the engine is too badly damaged (initial job will cost us about $300-600).

Well, the whole discussion triggered the idea of owning a scooter. We thought it would be a good idea to use a scooter during the summer especially with the high rising of gas price in Oregon. A scooter can drive 85 miles per gallon. I did a lot of searching for scooters through craiglist and found a few that I like. The one that really stood out is a 1975 Vespa Rally 200. I did call a scooter store and ask them for opinion on scooters and have been warned not to get a vintage bike as my first bike because they are less reliable than a new bike. But I just love the look of the vintage bike and they also cost less to fix than the new ones.

Anyway, we went for a ride on a Rally 200 and I was definitely liking it. However, there’s a catch to it. First of all, it costs $3800. Next, there’s some electrical issues (common on these bikes), the engine is very loud, rattles quite a bit and also I notice the bike stalled out while idling. The owner told me maybe it’s because it the first time he ride it after winter. Anyway, I was a little concern about the fact that I’m buying it from a private party and would have to deal with fixing it in the future.

We also went to scooterstation in Portland and found another vintage Vespa that we like. It’s a 1974 Vespa Super 150. Well, after taking a ride on it (notice I said taking a ride because I’m not allowed to drive it due to lack of motorcycle license), we decided it was a better option that the previous scooter. This one has a weaker enginer, 150cc instead of 200cc but it’s in much better condition, less mileage (2990miles as compared to 12000 miles on the Rally), with a rebuilt engine and I like the color more (it’s yellow). The store owner told us that the scooter is in it’s very original form and even the title is ‘vintage’. I wish I can keep the title because it’s so antique but I’m sure DMV would not allow it 😦

Anyway, we have not picked up the bike yet because we cannot ride on it. It’ll be delivered to us on Tuesday and I’ll take some good pictures and post it here later. I’m so excited to play with my new toy when it arrives. Matt will have a fun time trying to learn how to ride a scooter, not just any scooter, but a scooter with manual clutch gear 🙂 As for me, I’ve ridden on a motorbike before so I don’t think I’ll have too much trouble. The plan right now is for me to get the license first so I can monitor Matt when he gets his driving permit. I can’t wait for summer to come.

1 Comment »

  1. I didn’t think riding a clutch bike would be that hard. The scooter was delivered yesterday and when I went home I really wanted to see whether I could ride it or not. Well, the initial start was ok but then when I switch to gear 2, I let go of the clutch too soon (accidentally), crashed the scooter (sort of) and broke the rear right turning light. Well, I was riding it really slow so no biggie. The light is an easy fix and I won’t be riding it until we get our license :).

    Comment by joannestamplis — March 30, 2007 @ 8:08 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

