Matt and Joanne’s Page

March 13, 2007

Smith Rock finally…

Filed under: Climbing — joannestamplis @ 7:56 am

Matt and I will be climbing at Smith Rock this weekend. It’s been quite a while since we’ve gone to Smith Rock. We’ve just been so busy climbing at other places and also skiing. Anyway, I don’t think we’ll be doing anything crazy this weekend because we are going there as part of ICS class activity. They do not allow any ICS students who haven’t taken AR (Advanced Rock) to lead any climbs, boooo. So most likely we’ll be doing some easy toprope problems. It’s OK, Matt and I are taking AR this year so we will be able to lead the next ICS Smith Rock event, thank god.

I would rather lead a climb than to be led by an unknown climber. It’s really important to establish a strong climbing partnership prior to climbing with a partner and I don’t have any confidence in anybody except Matt, no offense to anyone, just because Matt and I have been climbing together for so long. I mean, if I’m to trust my life in someone else’s hand, I want to know how well my partner climbs and how good they are before I jump onto a route with them.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

